Press Release

March 18, 2014

Avery Fisher Artist Program Awards Avery Fisher Prize to Jeremy Denk, Career Grants to Charlie Albright, Dimitri Murrath and Calder Quartet

Lincoln Center News

For release March 18, 2014

AVERY FISHER ARTIST PROGRAM Celebrates 40th Anniversary Year






The announcement of a 2014 AVERY FISHER PRIZE to pianist JEREMY DENK for his outstanding contributions to the music world and his artistic excellence was made on March 18, 2014, as was the announcement of three Career Grants to CHARLIE ALBRIGHT, pianist; DIMITRI MURRATH, violist; and the CALDER QUARTET. It is interesting to note that Mr. Denk was a Career Grant recipient 16 years ago, back in 1998.

While Jeremy Denk will be feted officially by the Avery Fisher Artist Program later this season, on Tuesday, March 18, 2014, the three Career Grant recipients were honored at a celebration at Lincoln Center’s Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse by the Program’s Chairman, Nathan Leventhal, along with Charles Avery Fisher and Nancy Fisher. The announcement was followed by performances by the Career Grant recipients, which were recorded for broadcast by Classical 105.9 FM ~ WQXR, with host Robert Sherman, to be aired on Wednesday, April 2, from 9 - 10 pm. The 2014 Career Grants mark the 35th time WQXR has broadcast these festivities, having been a broadcast partner since the first Career Grants were awarded in 1976. Since then, 131 have been awarded (including this year’s grants), and all recipients are currently working musicians. In addition to Jeremy Denk, other former Career Grant recipients identified early in their careers include violinists Leila Josefowicz and Gil Shaham; pianists Kirill Gerstein and Yuja Wang; and The Miró Quartet. Showcasing Career Grant awardees for the fourth consecutive year, WNET Thirteen will spotlight 2014 Career Grant recipients on NYC-ARTS.

Forty years ago, in 1974, the Avery Fisher Artist Program was established by the late Avery Fisher as part of a major gift to Lincoln Center and serves as a monument to Mr. Fisher’s philanthropy and love of music. The Program continues to provide recognition in two categories, the Prize and Career Grants, to outstanding U.S. instrumentalists and, since 2004, chamber ensembles as well.

Avery Fisher Prize recipients are chosen by the Executive Committee of the Program (see below) for their excellence as musicians as well as their contributions to the music world. Jeremy Denk will be formally honored as the 2014 Avery Fisher Prize recipient on Thursday, May 29, at an invitational ceremony to be held at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts. As the recipient of this prestigious honor, Jeremy Denk receives a monetary award of $75,000. On a marble plaque in Avery Fisher Hall, his name will join the twenty-one previous Prize recipients: Lynn Harrell, cellist and Murray Perahia, pianist (1975); Yo-Yo Ma, cellist (1978); Emanuel Ax, pianist (1979); Richard Goode, pianist (1980); Horacio Gutiérrez, pianist (1982); Elmar Oliveira, violinist (1983); Richard Stoltzman, clarinetist (1986); André Watts, pianist (1988); Yefim Bronfman, pianist (1991); Garrick Ohlsson, pianist (1994); violinists Sarah Chang, Pamela Frank and Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg (1999); double bassist Edgar Meyer and clarinetist David Shifrin (2000); Midori, violinist (2001); Emerson String Quartet (2004); violinist Joshua Bell (2007); violinist Gil Shaham (2008); and Kronos Quartet (2011).

Avery Fisher Career Grants of the Avery Fisher Artist Program are designed to give professional assistance and recognition to talented instrumentalists, as well as chamber ensembles, who the Recommendation Board and Executive Committee of the Avery Fisher Artist Program believe to have great potential for major careers. Each recipient receives an award stipend of $25,000, to be used for specific needs in furthering a career. Recognizing the need for video in a young career, the Avery Fisher Artist Program provides recipients with a professionally videotaped, unrestricted DVD of the day’s performance to aid them in publicizing their work. These videos are also posted on the Program’s website. Up to five Avery Fisher Career Grants may be given each year and recipients must be U.S. citizens or permanent U.S. residents. Recipients are nominated by the Program's Recommendation Board, made up of nationally known instrumentalists, conductors, composers, music educators, managers and presenters. Final selections are made by the Program’s Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee currently comprises Emanuel Ax, pianist; Jed Bernstein, President, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts; David Finckel and Wu Han, Artistic Directors of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center; Henry Fogel, Dean, Chicago College of Performing Arts at Roosevelt University; Anthony Fogg, Artistic Administrator, Boston Symphony Orchestra; Pamela Frank, violinist; Ara Guzelimian, Provost and Dean, The Juilliard School; Nathan Leventhal, Chairman, Avery Fisher Artist Program; Yo-Yo Ma, cellist; Jane S. Moss, Ehrenkranz Artistic Director, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts; Chad Smith, Vice President, Artistic Planning, Los Angeles Philharmonic; Matías Tarnopolsky, Director, Cal Performances, UC Berkeley; and Matthew VanBesien, Executive Director, New York Philharmonic. Charles Avery Fisher and Nancy Fisher are advisors to the Executive Committee. The Avery Fisher Artist Program is grateful to Lincoln Center, Inc. for continued support.


Powered by Press